Clark Johnson named 2014 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar

Categories: News | Author: Lynn Whalen | Posted: 3/24/2014 | Views: 731
Lincoln Land Community College sophomore Clark Johnson of Farmersville (Pawnee High School) has been named a 2014 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation sponsors the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team program by recognizing 50 Gold, 50 Silver and 50 Bronze Scholars, and providing nearly $200,000 in scholarships annually. Each Silver Scholar receives a $1,250 scholarship and a special medallion.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society administers the Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Program and recognizes Coca-Cola Academic Team scholars during All-State Community College Academic Team Recognition ceremonies held in 38 states. Student scholars also receive recognition locally during ceremonies held on campus and internationally for those who are able to attend Phi Theta Kappa’s Annual Convention.

Community college presidents or their designated nominators may submit two nominations per campus for the award. An independent panel of judges considers outstanding academic rigor, grade point average, academic and leadership awards, and engagement in college and community service in the selection process.

“Clark Johnson is an outstanding leader in Lincoln Land’s Honors Program, in addition to being an excellent student. He is most deserving of this honor,” said David Laubersheimer, dean of arts and humanities and Phi Theta Kappa-LLCC chapter advisor.

Mr. Johnson was also selected for the Phi Theta Kappa All-Illinois Academic Team.  He is a member of the LLCC Honors Program, maintaining a 4.0 GPA. Mr. Johnson has also participated as a member of the nationally ranked LLCC Quiz Bowl team and the Model U.N. team. He will graduate this May with an associate in art degree in political science and plans to attend Blackburn College to receive a bachelor’s degree in political science, eventually pursuing a career in law and public service.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 1,285 chapters on two-year and community college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, Peru, the Republic of Palau, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates and U.S. territorial possessions. Nearly 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 131,000 students inducted annually.