Search LLCCGo
LLCCLincoln Land Community College
About LLCC

Article Details

Clark Johnson, Mary Flesch: Phi Theta Kappa All Illinois Academic Team

Categories: News | Author: Rose Hellman | Posted: 4/18/2014 | Views: 600

Clark Johnson of Farmersville and Mary Flesch of Springfield were selected as Lincoln Land Community College’s representatives on this year’s Phi Theta Kappa All-Illinois Academic Team. Community colleges in Illinois select two students yearly for the prestigious honor. All honorees were recognized at a banquet in Springfield April 1, sponsored by the Illinois Community College System.  

Mr. Johnson, a political science major, serves as treasurer of the LLCC Honors Program and the Alpha Epsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa. He is lieutenant captain of the Quiz Bowl Team and a representative on Student Government Association. Following graduation from LLCC, he plans to transfer to either Blackburn College or Southern Illinois University-Edwardsville to study political science, followed by law school. He was selected as a 2014 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team Silver Scholar and will be recognized at the Phi Theta Kappa Annual Convention in Orlando, Florida on April 25.

Ms. Flesch serves as president of the Alpha Epsilon Kappa chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, vice president of the LLCC Honors Program Student Organization, and is the former public relations officer of the English Studies Club. She will transfer this fall to the Illinois State University actuarial sciences program. In addition to her studies at LLCC, she works for a local tax attorney and as a weekend supervisor at a retirement home.

Phi Theta Kappa is the leading academic honor society for students at two-year colleges. Students are eligible for membership with grade point averages of 3.5 or above.

Print Bookmark and Share

Return to previous page
Lincoln Land Community College