Jeanne Clery Act

The Jeanne Clery Act is named in memory of 19-year-old Lehigh University freshman Jeanne Ann Clery after her brutal death on April 5, 1986. Since then, there have been many efforts to facilitate safer campus communities throughout the nation through innovative programming and transformative policy and legislation. LLCC shares this goal of framing the future of safety for our students, staff and visitors.

Each year the LLCC Police Department publishes an annual report outlining security and safety information and crime statistics for our main campus and other locations. The crime statistics in the annual report include those reported to LLCC Police Department, LLCC campus security authorities and local law enforcement agencies. The LLCC Police Department is responsible for preparing and distributing the report to comply with the Jeanne Clery Disclosure of Campus Security Policy and Crime Statistics Act.

LLCC Annual Campus Security Report

The LLCC Annual Campus Security Report provides useful information to the public regarding LLCC’s Police Department, prevention of substance abuse information and the school’s crime statistics for the previous three years.

The 2023-2024 LLCC Annual Security Report brochure contains crime statistics for the College's main campus and all regional locations. This highly informative brochure provides important information regarding student conduct policies, personal safety, emergency procedures and many other topics important to students and their families.

Hard copies of this information can be obtained by stopping at the Police Department, in Sangamon Hall South, or by sending a written request to the address below.

Police Department
Lincoln Land Community College
5250 Shepherd Road
PO Box 19256
Springfield, IL 62794-9256

Campus Security Authorities

The LLCC Police Department has primary responsibility for identifying LLCC’s Campus Security Authorities (CSA). The assistant to the chief of police is responsible for requesting a list of individuals from key departments whose employees fit into the following defined categories set by the Department of Education, assessing those lists and identifying those individuals who meet the criteria of a CSA. The U.S. Department of Education Office of Postsecondary Education defines a Campus Security Authority as an individual at an institution who because of their job function for the institution is someone who has significant responsibility for student and campus activities.

Individuals whose job functions relate to the following categories are considered CSAs:

  1. Campus police/security department.  All department personnel, including contract security and local law enforcement who have a written agreement or contract with the institution to provide security services.
  2. Individuals who have responsibility for campus security but who do not constitute a campus police/security department.  Such as an individual who monitors access into a campus facility, acts as event security, or escorts students around campus.
  3. Individuals or organizations, other than the police/security department, who are specified in an institution’s statement of campus security policy as an individual or organization to which students and employees should report criminal offenses.
  4. An official of an institution who has significant responsibility for student and campus activities, including but not limited to, student housing, student discipline and campus judicial proceedings.

Individuals, who are not responsible for campus security, who generally meet the criteria of being a CSA include, but are not limited to:

  • Athletic coaches, directors and athletic trainers. Those employed by the institution, student coaches, e-coaches and volunteer coaches.
  • Student club advisors.
  • Academic and club travel/trip advisors.
  • Title IX Coordinator.
  • Associate Vice President of Student Success.
  • Associate Vice President of Human Resources.
  • Vice President of Student Services.
  • Student Engagement Coordinator.
  • Director of Student Success and counselors, including peer counselors, if directed to via policy. Professional and pastoral counselors excluded, when acting as a professional or pastoral counselor.
  • Outreach Center directors and site coordinators.