Skip to main content

LLCC Ag hosts Professional Agriculture Student competition

Press contact: Lynn Whalen

LLCC agriculture students pose for a photo at the Illinois Professional Agriculture Student conference.
Evan McClain, Breanna Knittel, Emma Peters, Tommy Tarr, Cole Ellerbrock, Sam Stickley, Jett Vickery, Clayton Walch, Brooklyn Wurm, Makenzie Hereth, Morgan Black, Kylie Schakel, Mackenzie Harmon, Shaylee Maddox, Fuller Anderson, Luke Adams.

SPRINGFIELD — The Lincoln Land Community College agriculture program hosted 122 students from 10 Illinois colleges and universities for the recent Illinois Professional Agriculture Student (PAS) Annual Conference in LLCC’s new Kreher Agriculture Center.

The event brought agriculture students together to compete in career preparation events and develop leadership skills. Twenty-two LLCC students participated in a variety of contests for the privilege of representing Illinois at the National PAS Conference in Minneapolis, Minn. in March.

Individual LLCC results

Mackenzie Harmon, Morrisonville, second place in Agriculture Education Contest; Kylie Schakel, Atlanta, Ind., third place in Prepared Public Speaking.

LLCC team event results

Crop Specialist: first place. Individual placings: Clayton Walch, Raymond, first place; Fuller Anderson, Atwater, fifth place; Charlie Gum, Talulla, ninth place; Shawn Goebel, Harvel, 11th place; Wyatt Buckles, Mechanicsburg, 12th place.

College Bowl: second place. Team members include: Mackenzie Harmon; Luke Adams, Athens; Clayton Walch; Kylie Schakel; Jake Peters, New Berlin; Fuller Anderson; Meadow Sporrer, Springfield. 

Sheep Specialist: second place. Individual placings: Emma Peters, Versailles, Ohio, second place; Breanna Knittel, Greenfield, third place; Shaylee Maddox, Thomas, Okla., third place; Cole Ellerbrock, Atkinson, fifth place; Evan McClain, Anderson, Ind., ninth place; Kylie Schakel,10th place. 

Soil Specialist: second place. Individual placings: Clayton Walch, first place; Fuller Anderson, fifth place; Meadow Sporrer, seventh place; Yves Doumen-Nyansi, Springfield, 10th place; Ryan McGrew, Goodhope, 15th place. 

Overall Livestock Specialist: third place. Individual placings: Jett Vickery, Taylorville; Tommy Tarr, Dawson; Sam Stickley, St. Paris, Ohio, tied for ninth place. 

Swine Specialist: third place. Individual placings: Makenzie Hereth, Woodbine, Md., second place; Morgan Black, Darlington, Wis., third place; Brooklyn Wurm, Monroeville Ind., 10th place.